Data Demand, Wireless Services Fuel AT&T Revenue

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Data Demand, Wireless Services Fuel AT&T Revenue
Source: Reuters Increasing demand for data services and wireless connectivity are key segments driving revenue growth for AT&T (NYSE: T), as more enterprises migrate to IP technology and big business contracts cement future growth expectations, AT&T reported during today’s quarterly earnings call. Despite a few months of shaky economics and ever-increasing competition in the mobile sector, AT&T reported double-digit growth for the 12th consecutive quarter, with first-quarter profits increasing 21.5 percent to $3.46 billion. That translates to 57 cents per share, up 12 cents, from $2.85 billion a year ago. The boost is strongly tied to an 18.3 percent growth in wireless revenue and a 22.9 percent increase in IP data revenue. (Read the full post about ‘Data Demand, Wireless Services Fuel AT&T Revenue’…)

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Microsoft Details Its ‘Mesh’ Vision

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Microsoft Details Its ‘Mesh’ Vision
Microsoft’s Mesh goes live at Web 2.0. Microsoft (NASDAQ: MSFT) has taken the wraps off an early version of its new Live Mesh online connectivity and synchronization service. The announcement, which includes the release of a “limited” technology preview of Live Mesh, was made in a blog post by Amit Mital, general manager of Live Mesh Tuesday night. Mital is also scheduled to show Mesh off late in the day Wednesday during a presentation at the Web 2.0 Expo in San Francisco. The announcement has been expected for some time, and pundits have been weighing in with predictions on precisely what Live Mesh would provide in recent days and weeks. RELATED ARTICLES Microsoft: Mesh Lives! (Read the full post about ‘Microsoft Details Its ‘Mesh’ Vision’…)

Yahoo Hits Estimates, Gives No Ground on Microsoft

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Yahoo Hits Estimates, Gives No Ground on Microsoft
Yahoo CEO Jerry Yang Source: Reuters Web portal giant Yahoo (NASDAQ: YHOO) reported solid first-quarter results today, coming during a time of great uncertainty for the Internet pioneer as it faces a takeover bid from Microsoft. The company posted $1.35 billion in net revenue (excluding traffic acquisition costs), a 14 percent increase from the same period last year, and toward the high end of its own guidance. CEO Jerry Yang claimed Yahoo’s results were a testament to the success of the company’s recent strategy, which has focused on Yahoo reinventing itself as the starting point for Web surfers and the partner of choice for advertisers. “We are very proud of our Q1 results,” Yang said during the company’s earnings call with analysts. (Read the full post about ‘Yahoo Hits Estimates, Gives No Ground on Microsoft’…)

VMware Revs Up Revenues

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

VMware became the latest tech company to blow past Wall Street estimates late Tuesday when the company reported that sales grew 69% in the first quarter.

VMware’s revenues of $438.2 million were $16 million ahead of Thomson Financial forecasts, and earnings of 22 cents a share were in line with expectations. The server virtualization company predicted 50% sales growth for the rest of the year, in line with estimates, and its shares soared 15% in after-hours trading.

Yahoo also reported better than expected results late Tuesday, with earnings of 11 cents a share and sales after traffic acquisition costs of $1.35 billion.

(Read the full post about ‘VMware Revs Up Revenues’…)

Socialtext Fosters Enterprise 2.0 Collaboration

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Do enterprises need better wikis? Of course there’s always room for improvement, and Socialtext says its latest 3.0 release does just that for companies looking to get better management features and value from their use of the collaborative online tools.

The power of wikis is to get more people contributing.

Last week’s announcement of Socialtext 3.0 includes two new features, Socialtext Dashboard and Socialtext People, that offer new ways to manage information, conversations and connections.

The new version also includes what the company calls four core solution areas: Business Social Networks, Collaborative Intelligence, Flexible Client Collaboration and Participatory Knowledgebase.

(Read the full post about ‘Socialtext Fosters Enterprise 2.0 Collaboration’…)

The $4.6B Business of The Social

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

The enterprise software market has been fairly bubbling in recent months with new products to bring social and collaborative features into the workplace.

Why all the excitement? According to Forrester research, vendors large and small developing Web 2.0 products for the enterprise are chasing a market that will reach $4.6 billion globally by 2013. That figure represents an annual compound growth of 43 percent over the $764 million projected for 2008.

In summing the parts of Web 2.0 for the enterprise, the Forrester researchers considering seven technologies: blogs, wikis, podcasting, mashups, RSS, social networking and widgets.

(Read the full post about ‘The $4.6B Business of The Social’…)

Comcast Under Fire From FCC Yet Again

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Comcast Under Fire From FCC Yet Again
FCC Chairman Kevin Martin at CES 2008. Source: Reuters The top U.S. communications regulator said on Tuesday that an investigation of how Comcast Corp. (NASDAQ: CMCSA) manages its network had raised further concerns about tactics the company has used to restrict Internet users from sharing movies and other material. Testifying before Senate lawmakers, U.S. Federal Communications Commission Chairman Kevin Martin said Comcast had used a “blunt” technique to impose broad restrictions on peer-to-peer file sharing. “Contrary to some claims, it does not appear that this technique was used only to occasionally delay traffic at particular nodes suffering from network congestion at that time,” Martin said in prepared remarks before the Senate Commerce Committee. (Read the full post about ‘Comcast Under Fire From FCC Yet Again’…)

Microsoft Goes Deep with Search Results, Competes with Google’s Sitelinks

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Microsoft Goes Deep with Search Results, Competes with Google’s Sitelinks
Microsoft Goes Deep with Search Results, Competes with Google’s Sitelinks The team at Live Search as announced the addition of a deep links feature to its search results. Similar to Google’s Sitelinks, the feature lists prominent internal links for the #1 result on certain searches. I did a comparison of this feature for both Live Search and Yahoo. My first search is for the “State Department.” As you can see, Live Search lists the deep links in a single column, indented underneath the home page of the State Department’s website. While Google lists more results in 2 columns, and offers a search within a search box underneath the Sitelinks. Next, I did a search for Starbucks. (Read the full post about ‘Microsoft Goes Deep with Search Results, Competes with Google’s Sitelinks’…)

The Top 3 Reasons PPC Lead Gen Campaigns Miss Volume Targets

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

One of the big challenges in SEM campaigns is generating volume. For example, if you’re willing to pay $10 for a conversion, and your conversion rate is 10 percent, you’d most likely be willing to pay $1 for each click to maximize conversions.

The available volume in paid search is limited. Search engines can’t generate more searches for specific keywords. That prevents you from achieving volume targets in your campaign. Nothing in your paid search campaign strategy can change the fact that people only search so much on keywords related to your campaign — one of the major limitations in SEM today.

CEOs for large brands, for example, might find the cost-per-conversion metrics interesting.

(Read the full post about ‘The Top 3 Reasons PPC Lead Gen Campaigns Miss Volume Targets’…)

Yahoo Earnings Beat Estimates

Autor admin | 23.04.2008 | Category SEO

Yahoo Earnings Beat Estimates

Yahoo reported its quarterly earnings today, beating previous analyst estimates. It’s probably the most important earnings report Yahoo has ever had to make, since a weak showing would almost certainly lead investors to agree to a speedy acquisition by Microsoft at its current $31 per share offer.

Yahoo reported $121 million operating income on $1.35 billion in net revenues. Earnings per share of $0.11, above $0.09 estimates.

“We believe we can significantly accelerate our revenue growth, return to our historically high margins, and double our operating cash flow by 2010,” co-founder and CEO Jerry Yang said in a statement.

(Read the full post about ‘Yahoo Earnings Beat Estimates’…)


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